Walking Blindly

While looking for some final background footage for the last part of my video, I stumbled upon a compilation of multiple people walking into things while texting. They are so distracted by their phones, that they do not even realize where they are walking. I don’t think I have ever been this distracted by something on my phone, but I do know that the main focus is not on walking here. At my school, I’ve definitely seen other students in the hallways with their heads down, staring at their phones, refusing to greet peers passing by. Is the content on our phones really more important than socializing with others or even seeing where we are walking? No way! This is also a very dangerous habit to get into. Imagine walking through a crowded downtown while texting on your phone. You could accidentally walk into the street and get hit by a car or walk into other people or objects. This shows that most of us can’t even wait to sit down or have free time to check our phones/social media. The technology has more control over the user which is not how the relationship is supposed to be.

One thought on “Walking Blindly”

Leave a comment